Cartoon Physics

With you I never can be sure: one day
the road will end and I’ll walk off your cliff,
still treading air until I crash. But if
that happens I’ll have time to turn and sway
in shock and hold a HELP ME sign before
descending in a puff of smoke. I know
for sure you’ll make it through a tunnel, though
I’ll end up crumpling like a folding door.
Quit cheating physics, dear. Play by the rules.
You draw some wings and fly into the sun
and leave me stranded below. Where’s the fun?
Each time I put up with your ridicules
it backfires so much. One day you’ll run;
I’ll let the desert take you. I am done.

Leave a Reply

