Foreign Language Acquisition

The syntax of affection bids us rise
to question possibilities and speak
of future tensions. Hear how meanings leak
across word boundaries. Conjugate surprise
into the way your hands so gently prise
open my heart, the grammar of your cheek
and caustic wit a part of rules I seek
to transcribe what we hitherto surmise.
This is the vocabulary of our love:
the mixing of our corpora, the poise
of register. You are a new dialect
to me and I have fluency to prove;
teach me to speak – teach me the various joys
of learning you in Subject Verb Object.

Leave a Reply

