Possible Endings

So this is how the story starts – that one
windy May evening I meet you within
the hallways of my school: page one is done.
We get to pick our own adventures. In
my world I turn the page to see you grin
the summer’s warmth at me, your June-time sun
and river breeze trapping my heart. Begin:
it’s time for you to roll your dice or run.
Each book is different. Time reads you your lines,
and you decide – page four – or thirty-two;
your character progresses through rebirth.
But all I hope for is to say to you,
please take my hand, and in these words’ confines
that you explore with me this tender earth.

Leave a Reply

