Postcard for a Birthday

for Jana

This other land, where you have rooted, is
where time has passed; for me I live still in
the past where “see you soon” did not yet mean
impossibility. Perhaps you miss
friends’ smiles, our laughter, and your family’s kiss…
perhaps instead all that is gone, and kin
left far away. Memories persist, though. In
my world I write to tell you news, and this
is how I reach out from the sands of time
to say I’ve missed your music. Go on; please
don’t ever stop. We think of you so much. Do
remember us. You’re more than just a mime
within a photo. Life is yours, as is
this clumsy melody I write to you.

Leave a Reply

