Into the Woods

You are a hidden grove that I explore
alone, walking along the paths which take
me onward into realms that secrets make
alluring with the scent of shadow. More
and more my steps bring darkness here, before
the trees so laden with your fruit awake
to drop your bounty into silent lakes
whose waters let these branches free to soar
up high into the sky. And as I roam,
you draw me close into your deep embrace
where all I want to do is walk and walk
beneath these leaves that gentle winds make talk –
to whisper in these depths my lovelorn lays
and feel the hidden warmth within your loam.

Leave a Reply

