lilacs

the morning wakes me, dawn tugs at my eyes:
it scatters remnants of my dreams about my bed
and wafts a dewdrop breeze over my head;
the grass is stained with tears, like beads of ice,
the lilacs blossom in their fragrant sighs –
I go to breathe the dawn; my troubles fade
as fragrant lilacs flower in the shade,
and I will go to find where happiness lies…
throughout my life old Fate has given me
one single happiness – just one – belief
will lie among the lilac blooms and leaves;
the sun is shining: both the fragrant green
and flowering bunches may have shared between
the scent that in my happiness will be.

(this poem is a paraphrase of Сирень by Екатерина Бекетова.)

Leave a Reply

