I breathe so quietly

I breathe so quietly the heady air.

Around you wafts the breeze of my desire.

Do you not breathe my need, as I inspire

The scent of your sweet presence, calm and fair?

I breathe so quietly. In your heart’s lair

I’ve laid my own, alight with burning fire.

Will you become my flame or funeral pyre?
Or will I burn while you are unaware?

I breathe so quietly the steaming tears

From which your fountains’ waters gush their charms.

Your waters sweep me, tangled in my fears,

That your young earth may be my grave-to-be—

But when I’m buried in your flowing arms

I love you, with your world enshrined in me.

Leave a Reply

