From Afar

I dreamed of loving once. In such a dream

Did joy and laughter decorate my sleep.

But dreams are dreams, and dreams have I to keep—

That joy is past, and deadened is that dream.

I dreamed of loving once. Recurrent dream

Of fancy born through son and fountains’ leap;

My well ran dry, my harvest’s fruitless reap.

Awake was I to sleep a nascent dream:

I dream to love again. And there you are:

A scribbled beauty, voice so sweet to hear.

Are dreams the truth? Or truth but just a dream?

To stay; to fall—we are not how we seem—

I dream to love again, but strike me fear,

And love I may, a dreaming from afar.

9 thoughts on “From Afar

  1. YOUR FIRST LINE SOUNDS FAMILIAR. I WONDER WHY.

    haha HEY, you update once a week like I do! and you have a grand total of 14 dreams in your sonnet, i find that very very cool (WAS THAT INTENDED). and i like all your seemingly paradoxical lines lor, like “awake was i to sleep a nascent dream” and “are dreams the truth? or truth but a dream?”

    I HUNGRY. -stomach growls-

    Like

    1. Yah fine, it’s a rephrase from Le Paysage lor.

      And the point is not to update once a week >_> it’s to write as often as possible, though I try damn hard and nothing seems to work so I throw it away. When I die you can have all those scraps and see how badly they’re executed. I only noticed 14 after I was done with this but definitely intended to make it sound obsessive (YOU MUST ADMIT, DESNOS DOES IT WAAAAAYY BETTER) surely you’d spot all the reused lines from my older sonnets lor.

      I HUNGRY TOO, FEED ME.

      Like

      1. CAN TELL ABOUT THE LINES HAHA. i uh have vague impression that some of this look like i’ve seen it before! at least you’re trying, i put down the pen after i’ve stoned over my lime book for more than five minutes. i shall stone for a longer time over my lime book after exams for guilt-free stoning! and inspiration! etc.

        how do you know you’re going to die before me huh! DESNOS HAHA, WE CAN GO READ MORE OF HIM IN THE NEAR FUTURE. YAYY!

        OPEN MOUTH. I GOT CHOCOLATE.

        Like

      2. *shhhh* dont give secrets away like that tsktsktsk

        HEY WELL. copy others one lor, if you can take an idea and do something else with it then its still a work of your own. (then again. i didnt exactly change a lot) im a lazy prig!

        your lime book, I WANT TO READ. HMPF

        Like

      3. not like it has anything much more that is not already on my lj!

        haha WHAT SECRETS, WHO’S GIVING THEM AWAY. I DON’T HAVE CHOCOLATE ANYMORE. GIVE!

        Like

Leave a Reply

