Forgetting

Thrown back to times long past, I wake in pain.

A dread takes me. I look around in fear.

I do not know the place I lie in. Here

A coarse insult, there squawking crows again.

I walk, so shakily, along the lane.

There’s something that I lost. But what? I hear

My spirit cry beneath my scared veneer.

I feel like part of me is dead, and sadly slain.

I do not know this world. Yet little bits

Seem familiar to me. I breathe this air.

It smells of spring and night, and pallid sin.

I spot a maiden. Beneath a tree she sits.

I have seen her before, but where? oh where?

My memory’s gone. I know not where I’ve been.

Leave a Reply

