Yearning

You’ve taken all my happiness with you.

This empty life I lead is watered through

With quiet sighs and seas of unshed tears.

I miss your laughter ringing in my ears.

That time is past, and what I took as true

Is but a gentle breeze: a breath, a moue,

A pretty sight for all my youthful years,

To bid me grow, to overcome my fears.

Would I be wise, or love you like a fool?

Ah! Such it is that wisdom I would scorn,

To live a foolish joy in lovers’ pull.

I’d offer you my all, I’d be reborn…

But now I watch my image in a pool

Unwashed with tears. My soul cries out, forlorn.

Leave a Reply

