I loved a dream

I loved a dream. Now with your words I wake,

To breathe that sorrow-fillèd stale despair;

The thoughts imbued with you are everywhere,

And yet I pray that, once more, Love will take

Our hearts and meld them into one. My lake

Of tears, this grief’s dark lachrymal so fair,

Will spend itself because of you. I bear

The grief of lost delight—my heart you break:

Oh let this dream not end. For you I cry;

And when you meet me, pray not pass me by,

But let your glance be like a curse on me:

Enchant my willing heart, revive my dreams…

Yet that is past. Your love now coldly gleams.

My dreams are lost. And I from life will flee.

Leave a Reply

