Nuits Perdues

In all these days I hunted for the night.

In times I lost my life, and with that time

I grew to be so strange; the spirits mime

My past in front of me. And through the light

My morals and my sins would fiercely fight,

E’en though lost nights lay covered in dead slime,

Confused and frightened. Shaking off the grime

I wake from dreams; the sun is high and bright.

I never see a night. Eternal day

Stands in my path. Haunted, I never lay

Myself to rest. And in the sun’s warm frost

I lose all track of time—I walk my way

Not knowing where I go. Fading away:

My mind doth yearn with pain for nights I lost.

Leave a Reply

